BESS awarded prizes

During the annual scientific meeting, the Education Committee judges every paper and poster and awards prizes according to strict criteria. Below is a list of our awards and the latest recipients details:

  • The Lipmann-Kessel prize - awarded to the presenter of the best paper.

(2019, Leeds @Harrogate) Serious adverse events and long-term revision risk following shoulder replacement for acute trauma: A population cohort study of 14 052 patients from hospital episode statistics data: RS Craig; JCE Lane; D Furniss; SE Gwilym; GS Collins; JL Rees, Nuffield Department of Orthopaedics, Rheumatology and Musculoskeletal Sciences, University of Oxford, Oxford

  • The Ian Kelly prize - awarded to the presenter of the second highest scoring paper.

(2019, Leeds @Harrogate) Radiographic and CT characteristics of coronoid fractures and inter-observer reliability of coronoid fracture classification: PA Cameron; H Syed; J Phadnis, Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust, Brighton

  • The Paul Calvert Endeavour prize - awarded at the discretion of the Education Committee to the presenter of the best paper and/or research completed with limited resources.

(2019, Leeds @Harrogate) In-vivo randomised control study of the bone response of all-suture anchors to biocomposite anchors in the glenoid: C Stewart; H Raja; E Torrance; L Funk, HCA The Wilmslow Hospital & University of Manchester, Manchester

  • The AHP prize - awarded to the presenter of the best AHP paper.

(2019, Leeds @Harrogate) Accelerated rehabilitation following distal biceps tendon repair: V Jones; S Booker; D Potter; A Ali; D Thyagarajan, Sheffield Shoulder and Elbow Unit, Northern General Hospital, Sheffield

  • The Poster prize - awarded to the best poster.

(2019, Leeds @Harrogate) The assessment of glenoid track on an mr arthrogram is predictive of failure following arthroscopic shoulder stabilisation: E Crighton; G Butterworth; C Elias-Jones; AJ Brooksbank; PJ Jenkins, Glasgow Royal Infirmary, Glasgow